Skip to content

Patatas Fritas

October 26, 2010

There must be something said by the way that a country serves its french fries.

I had always though it was basically the same everywhere: catsup, and mustard if you were weird. But being the enlightened traveller that I am, I have learned that this is by no means true.

In Costa Rica, french fries were served spread out on a plate and artfully ginghamed with catsup, mustard, and mayonnaise.

In Peru, they were served plain, and though there was something in a red plastic bottle on the table, it was not nearly delicious enough to be my beloved catsup.

Here in Spain, though, I have come across the most unexpected form of serving my favorite fried treat. I have heard rumors of things like vinegar, and gotten very used to the idea mayonnaise.

At least once a week, my dinner consists of a shallow bowl piled with (homemade, potatoey) french fries, with a very runny egg plopped on top.

I talked to Gerardo – my sole Spanish friend – about this, and I guess there is some sort of tradition here. It’s a country dish (though I say some very small children eating my familiar dinner in a fancy restaurant) and apparently you can tell a lot about a place by the way they serve their french fries with a fried egg.

Fried here does not mean the same thing at home. A fried egg here has more or less been poached in oil. Just as I was starting to enjoy eggs with a runny yolk, I will return to the U.S. swearing off them for a long, long time.

In other eggy food news, today I ate giant squid eggs (big on texture, not on flavor) and a kind of scrambled fish egg patty, grilled, which I enjoyed quite a bit more.

I’ll be sharing pictures from Córdoba soon! The mosque was incredible.

And that giant, giant post I have promised. I have a long weekend. So. Maybe it will happen.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jennifer burton permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:19 am

    I’m sorry, but you say catsup and not ketchup? Really?
    And I’m glad to know you’re getting the wet egg thing driven out of you, even if by overdose 🙂

    • sofieenespana permalink*
      October 31, 2010 11:51 am

      Yes, catsup! I like words that have little to no relationship to their pronunciation.

Leave a Reply

